Bridges

Like cranes, I have been fascinated with bridges since my early childhood.  Here is the beginnings of a photo series that I hope to greatly expand this year.

Unlike the “cranes” photos – make that most of my photos, the photos of bridges in this video are highly processed. Why? Well I learned that shooting photos of a grey/silver bridge (the Bay Bridge) on a cloudy, foggy day means that the bridge will be nearly invisible. So I amped the contrast, played with all of the settings in Lightroom and you can see the “surreal” results. Interestingly, it was the opposite problem with the Golden Gate Bridge, which I shot on a sunny day. It is an orange bridge and the backdrop of the Marin Headlands did not provide enough contrast.

Gary

This entry was posted in Oakland, Photography, San Francisco, San Francisco Bay Area. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

